Civil Courage Prize
for steadfast resistance to evil at great personal risk


Please click on the links below to learn more about each of the Civil Courage Prize honorees.

2019 Gonzalo Himiob Santomé  of  Venezuela
2018 Vladimir Kara-Murza of Russia
2017 Pierre Claver Mbonimpa of Burundi
2016 Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently of Syria
2015 Yassmin Barrios and Claudia Paz y Paz of Guatemala
2014 Nicola Gratteri of Italy
2013 Denis Mukwege of the Democratic Republic of the Congo
2012 Yu Jie of China
2011 Lydia Cacho Ribeiro of Mexico and
Triveni Acharya of India
2010 Reverend Canon Andrew White of Iraq and the United Kingdom
2009 Aminatou Haidar of Western Sahara
2008 Ali Salem of Egypt
2007 Phillip Buck of North Korea
2006 Rafael Marques de Morais of Angola
2005 Min Ko Naing of Burma
Anna Politkovskaya of Russia
2004 Emadeddin Baghi of Iran
Lovemore Madhuku of Zimbabwe
2003 Shahnaz Bukhari of Pakistan
2002 Vladimiro Roca Antunez of Cuba
2001 Paul Kamara of Sierra Leone
2000 Natasa Kandic of the former Yugoslavia


Certificates of Distinction


© Civil Courage Prize