Civil Courage Prize
for steadfast resistance to evil at great personal risk


For further information contact:  Barbara Becker
Phone: 917-727-1094

Press Releases

2019 Gonzalo Himiob Santomé
2018 Vladimir Kara-Murza
2017 Pierre Claver Mbonimpa
2016 Raqqa Is Being Slaughtered Silently
2015 Yassmin Barrios and Claudia Paz Y Paz
2014 Nicola Gratteri
2013 Denis Mukwege
2012 Yu Jie
2011 Lydia Cacho Ribeiro of Mexico and Triveni Acharya of India
2010 Canon Andrew White
2009 Aminatou Haidar
2008 Ali Salem
2007 Phillip Buck
2006 Rafael Marques de Morais
2005 Min Ko Naing and Anna Politokovskaya
2004 Emadeddin Baghi and Lovemore Madhuku
2003 Shahnaz Bukhari
2002 Vladimiro Roca Antunez
2001 Paul Kamara
2000 Natasa Kandic

Documents in PDF format require Adobe's Acrobat Reader.


"Something is desperately wrong when America is accused of covering up the killing of a dissident." LA Times (October 20, 2018).

"Italian anti-Mafia prosecutor gets courage prize." Associated Press (October 15, 2014).

"Dr. Mukwege of DR Congo Wins Two Peace Awards." Huffington Post (October 11, 2013).

Marques, Rafael. "In Angola: Growing Wealth, Shrinking Democracy." New York Times (August 29, 2012).

Politkovskaya, Anna. Is Journalism Worth Dying For? Melville House: 2011. Reviewed in Salon.

Marques, Rafael. "A New Diamond War." Washington Post (November 6, 2006).

Politkovskaya, Anna. "Stalinism Forever." Washington Post (April 1, 2006).

Alexandra Poolos, Women's Enews. "Politkovskaya's Duty Is to Cover Chechnya's War" (December 29, 2005).

Baghi, Emadeddin. "Hope for Democracy in Iran." Washington Post (October 24, 2004).

Lake, Eli. "Leading Iranian Journalist Detained." New York Sun (October 13, 2004).

Amnesty International public statement. "Iran: End limitations on the work of human rights defenders." (October 6, 2004).

Ferguson, Tim W. "Nobel Gestures." Forbes Magazine (October 9, 2000).

Steele, Jonathan. "Elections in Yugoslavia: Young are a beacon of hope for a new Serbia. The Future of Optimism and Uncertainty." The Guardian (September 27, 2000).


— Return to top —



© Civil Courage Prize